Wednesday, September 24, 2014

More Proof, As If Any Was Needed, That Sweden is the Most Advanced Society in the World

Attentive readers may recall friend of PowerPop Wayne Lundquist Ford, the proprietor of an intertube radio show from Sweden called...


Wayne was good enough to play a Floor Models tune on the show last year (as well as one by my high school garage band The Plagues).

More to the point, he's just put together the greatest power pop download album in the history of the world.


But I'll let him tell you about it.

Ok, here it is the best free download in the world right now, 63 of the best artists around right now. 200 free downloads a month, after that it goes to paid until the new month, if anyone buys the album at that time, I will donate every penny to a music charity. Please share and support all the bands by liking their Facebook pages, buying their music and going to their concerts, this is what this is all about. Many thanks to all the artists involved.

I should add that Wayne was kind enough to include a track by Gerry Devine and the Hi-Beams...


...the successor band to the Flo Mos, and also featuring a bass player whose name rhymes with Sleeve Nimels. It's a pretty nifty song, if I do say myself, although frankly I haven't heard a bum track among the other 62. It's really a great album, is what I'm saying, and if you have the slightest interest in the genre this blog is devoted to, it behooves downloading.

So what the heck are you waiting for? -- get thee over to the album page and check it out posthaste.

I should add that Wayne's show today -- which you can find online at RADIO ANDRA -- will be featuring tracks from the album; it airs at 6pm UK time; I have no idea what the translates to here on the east coast of the USA, but I'll try to find somebody who can figure it out for me and get back to you.

You're welcome.

UPDATE: I am informed that Wayne's show will air at 1pm EST this afternoon. Enjoy!

5 comments:

Gummo said...

I often approach your hyperbole with caution, but so far (track 5) this is a really good, listenable collection!

I wish he'd included dates, though.

steve simels said...

Me? Hyperbole?
:-)

Gummo said...

Really, I don't know WHAT I was thinking!

jsrcalifornia said...

My little on-line Power Pop station plays Wayne's excellent show three times a week at times that are more convenient for listeners in the U.S.:

Thursday: 7 PM Pacific, 10 PM Eastern

Friday: 1 PM Pacific, 4 PM Eastern

Saturday: 8 AM Pacific, 11 AM
Eastern

Right here: www.live365.com/stations/jeffreyr25

steve simels said...

Thanks for the heads up on the rebroadcasts--that's very cool.